Provinces are the highest-level Chinese administrative divisions. There are 34 such divisions, classified as 22 provinces, 4 municipalities, 5 autonomous regions, 2 Special Administrative Regions, and the claimed Taiwan Province. Read More Below.



Hebei, Ji for short, has Shijiazhuang as its provincial capital. Under the jurisdiction of the States of Zhao and Yan almost throughout the Warring States Period, Hebei gained its name of Yanzhao.



Shanxi, “Jin” for short, is in the west of Taihang Mountains and the east of Yellow River. Shanxi is located in the west of the Taihang Mountains, hence its name. In the Spring and Autumn Period, the territory was mostly owned by the state of Jin, so Shanxi is called as “Jin”.



Liaoning Province, called “Liao” for short, with Shenyang as its capital, is composed of 14 prefecture-level cities, including two sub-provincial cities Shenyang and Dalian.



Jilin Province, with its abbreviation as Ji, has a territory of 187,400 square kilometers, accounting for 2% of the total national territory. Its capital city is Changchun.



Heilongjiang is the northeastern most province in China. In Heilongjiang Province there are 9 excellent tourism cities, i.e., Harbin, Qiqihar, Mudanjiang, Jiamusi, Daqing, Yichun, Acheng, Suifenhe, Hulin, and Tieli.



Jiangsu, the biggest province of China, is called “Su” for short and located on China’s east coast. In 1667, it was established because of the east-and-west separation of Jiangnan Administration Commission.



Zhejiang Province is abbreviated to “Zhe”, with Hangzhou as its provincial capital. Zhejiang, which has a long history and splendid culture, is one of the cradles of ancient Chinese civilization and an important cradle of culture of the State of Wu and the State of Yue.



Fujian Province, abbreviated to “Min”, is situated on the southeast coast of China, bordered by Zhejiang Province to the northeast, Jiangxi Province to the northwest, Guangdong Province to the southwest, and Taiwan to the east across the Taiwan Strait.



Jiangxi Province, Gan for short, is located in the south riverbank of the middle and lower reaches of Yangtze River, the southeast of China. Near Zhejiang Province and Fujian Province in the east, connecting with Guangdong Province in the south, and adjacent to Hunan Province in the west, Jiangxi connects with the Yangtze River


Anhui, “Wan” for short, is an inland province of China, and is geographically part of the East China region. Located across the basins of the Yangtze River and Huai River, it borders Jiangsu Province, Zhejiang Province, Shandong Province, Henan Province, Hubei Province and Jiangxi Province.



Shandong Province is abbreviated as “Lu”, and its name refers to the province’s location to the east of the Taihang Mountains. The province is located on the eastern coastal areas of China and in the lower reaches of the Yellow River and borders the Yellow Sea to the east, and the Bohai Sea to the north.



Henan Province, “Yu” for short, is located in the central part of China. It was called Central Plains in ancient times. It is located in central and eastern part of China, and in the middle and lower reaches of Yellow River with Zhengzhou as its provincial capital. Read More.



Hubei, “E” for short, is also named “the Province of Thousands of Lakes”. Hubei is located in the middle part of China, middle reaches of Changjiang River, and north of Dongting Lake, so it gets its name. Hubei is adjacent to Henan in the north, connected with Anhui in the east, near Jiangxi.



Hunan Province is located in the regions south of the Yangtze River, and also the middle reaches of the Yangtze River, facing Jiangxi on the east, connecting Chongqing and Guizhou on the west, adjoining Guangdong and Guangxi on the south and adjoining Hubei on the north.



Guangdong is also called “Yue” for short. As a coastal province located at the southern end of mainland China, Guangdong lies to the south of the Nan Mountains, borders on the South China Sea to the south, shares borders with Hong Kong, Macao, Guangxi, Hunan, Jiangxi, and Fujian, and faces Hainan across the sea.



Located in the southernmost of China, Hainan Province is China’s second largest island, only secondary to Taiwan, facing Guangdong Province across the Qiongzhou Strait in the north, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam across Beibu Gulf in the west, Taiwan Province across the South China Sea in the east, and the Philippines.


Sichuan, known as Bashu in ancient times, is a land of abundance and full of nature bestows, thus gaining the reputation as “the Essence of the Landscape in the world.” Sichuan has a profound history and magnificent culture.



Guizhou Province, also called “Qian” or “Gui” for short, is located in the southeast part of Southwest China, bordering Hunan Province to the east, Guangxi Province to the south and Yunnan Province to the west and Sichuan Province and Chongqing City to the north.



Located in the southwestern part of China and with Kunming as its capital, Yunnan Province, also called “Dian” or “Yun” for short, is one of the important birthplaces of mankind. Yunnan Yuanmou Man dating back to 1.7 million years ago has been identified to be the earliest human being in China and Asia.



In inland Chinese province located in the middle reaches of the Yellow River, Shaanxi, or Shan or Qin for short, is the province sharing borders with the largest number of provinces or prefecture-level cities in China. It stretches about 870 km from north to south while its width varies between 200 km and 500 km in the west-east direction.



Gansu Province is the provincial-level administrative region in People’s Republic of China. Located in the upstream of the Yellow River, Gansu Province borders Shaanxi to the east, Sichuan and Qinghai to the south, Xinjiang to the west and Inner Mongolia and Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region to the north.



Qinghai Province, also called Qing for short, is located in the northeastern part of Qinghai-Tibet Plateau and lying between the longitude of 89°35’E-003°04’E and latitude of 31°40’N -39°19’N, spanning 1,200 km from east to west, and 800 km from north to south with an area of 72.12 km2.