The PRC had more than 660 cities by the end of 2002, of which 10 had populations of more than 4 million each in the urban area; 23, between 2 and 4 million; 138, between 1 and 2 million; 279, between 500,000 and 1 million; 171, between 200,000 and 500,000; and 39, fewer than 200,000 people.



Dalian, the second largest city in Liaoning Province, is located at the south of Liaodong Peninsula, adjacent to the Yellow Sea in the east and Bohai Sea in the west. As one of the five specially designated cities in the state plan, one of the fifteen sub-provincial cities and one of the fourteen opened coastal cities.



As China’s third largest city, Guangzhou, or Sui for short, is situated in central southern Guangdong, and on the central northern edge of the Pearl River Delta. It is China’s southern gate, one of China’s central cities, an international metropolis, one of China’s 3 largest comprehensive portal cities, a famous port city in the world, one of China’s economic, financial, trade, shipping, and exhibition center.



Chengdu, also known as “Rong”, is the capital city of Sichuan Province. As a sub-provincial and regional central city, Chengdu plays a vital role in politics, culture, commerce and trade, finance, science and education, military, transportation and communication. In addition, it boasts the largest airport with the 1st comprehensive strength in western part of China.



Nanjing, simplified as “Ning”, has another name Jinling. With a history of over 2,500 years as a city and nearly a history of 500 years as a capital, it is one of the 4 major ancient capitals in China, enjoying the titles “Ancient Capital for Six Dynasties” and “Capital City for Ten Dynasties”.



Xi’an, called Chang’an or Jingzhao in ancient times, is one of the four famous ancient capitals of the world. It is located in one of the birthplaces of Chinese civilization as well as one of the cradles of the Chinese people. It represents an outstanding miniature version of Chinese culture, and is the starting point of the Silk Road.



As the provincial capital of Zhejiang Province, Hangzhou is abbreviated to “Hang”, being one of the seven ancient cities of China, one of the first batch of historic and cultural cities of China, the best tourist city in China, the political, economic, cultural and financial center and transportation and communication hub of Zhejiang Province, and the core city of Hangzhou metropolitan circle.



Located in the southernmost of Hainan Island and boasting blue sky, clear water and attractive coconut trees, Sanya is China’s southernmost tropical seaside tourist city. Nicknamed Deer City, Sanya covers a land area of 1,919.58 km2, a sea area of 6,000 km2, and a population of 685,000 of Li, Miao, Hui and Han people, bordering Lingshui County in the east.



Situated in the middle of Tibet Plateau, and to the north of the Himalayas, Lhasa was built in the valley plain of Lhasa River, a branch of Yarlung Zangbo River. As a capital city, Lhasa is the political, economic, cultural and transportation center of Tibet. It covers an area of 29,518 square kilometers, with a population of 540,500, made up of people from over 30 ethnic groups including Tibetan, Han, Hui, Manchu, etc.



Suzhou, one of the megalopolises in East China, which is listed among the first batch of historic and cultural cities, is one of China’s ten major tourist cities. Located in the Yangtze River Delta, it is located in the southeastern part of Jiangsu Province, called Wu County in ancient times. The ancient city of Suzhou was first built during the reign of King He Lu of Wu State in 514 B.C. over 2,500 years ago.



Guilin is famous for its unique landscapes, brilliant history and culture. As an international tourist city, it is known as a tourist city with its landscape ranking first. Rich in tourism resources, it is characterized by the following advantages: First, beautiful and unique landscapes; typical karst topography makes it rank first in “green hills, elegant rivers, strange caves and beautiful stones” with a world-renowned reputation.