China National Tourist Office, Toronto © 2015
Website by Sunient | Design & Marketing


Provinces are the highest-level Chinese administrative divisions. There are 34 such divisions, classified as 22 provinces, 4 municipalities, 5 autonomous regions, 2 Special Administrative Regions, and the claimed Taiwan Province. Read More Below.


H ebei, Ji for short, has Shijiazhuang as its provincial capital. Under the jurisdiction of the States of Zhao and Yan almost throughout the Warring States Period, Hebei gained its name of Yanzhao. Located in northern China, Hebei lies to the north of the Zhang River, borders on the Bohai Sea to the east, and almost encircles Beijing and Tianjin completely. Read More.

Visit Hebei


S hanxi, “Jin” for short, is in the west of Taihang Mountains and the east of Yellow River. Shanxi is located in the west of the Taihang Mountains, hence its name. In the Spring and Autumn Period, the territory was mostly owned by the state of Jin, so Shanxi is called as “Jin”. Read More.

Visit Shanxi


L iaoning Province, called “Liao” for short, with Shenyang as its capital, is composed of 14 prefecture-level cities, including two sub-provincial cities Shenyang and Dalian. Situated in the northeast of China, Liaoning is adjacent to Bohai Sea and Huanghai Sea in the south and bordered to the vast industrial base in the north. Read More.

Visit Liaoning


J ilin Province, with its abbreviation as Ji, has a territory of 187,400 square kilometers, accounting for 2% of the total national territory. Its capital city is Changchun. Jilin Province sits at the geometric center of Northeast Asia as comprised by Japan, Russia, North Korea, South Korea, Mongolia and Northeast China…Read More.

Visit Jilin


H eilongjiang is the northeastern most province in China. In Heilongjiang Province there are 9 excellent tourism cities, i.e., Harbin, Qiqihar, Mudanjiang, Jiamusi, Daqing, Yichun, Acheng, Suifenhe, Hulin, and Tieli. Natural reserves: There are 15 national-level reserves and 35 provincial-level reserves in all in Heilongjiang. Read More.

Visit Heilongjiang


J iangsu, the biggest province of China, is called “Su” for short and located on China’s east coast. In 1667, it was established because of the east-and-west separation of Jiangnan Administration Commission. The name of the province is the abbreviation of the “Provincial Administration Commission that administrates Jiangnan covering Jiangning…Read More.

Visit Jiangsu


Z hejiang Province is abbreviated to “Zhe”, with Hangzhou as its provincial capital. Zhejiang, which has a long history and splendid culture, is one of the cradles of ancient Chinese civilization and an important cradle of culture of the State of Wu and the State of Yue. Read More.

Visit Zhejiang


F ujian Province, abbreviated to “Min”, is situated on the southeast coast of China, bordered by Zhejiang Province to the northeast, Jiangxi Province to the northwest, Guangdong Province to the southwest, and Taiwan to the east across the Taiwan Strait. Read More.

Visit Fujian


J iangxi Province, Gan for short, is located in the south riverbank of the middle and lower reaches of Yangtze River, the southeast of China. Near Zhejiang Province and Fujian Province in the east, connecting with Guangdong Province in the south, and adjacent to Hunan Province in the west, Jiangxi connects with the Yangtze River…Read More.

Visit Jiangxi


A nhui, “Wan” for short, is an inland province of China, and is geographically part of the East China region. Located across the basins of the Yangtze River and Huai River, it borders Jiangsu Province, Zhejiang Province, Shandong Province, Henan Province, Hubei Province and Jiangxi Province. Read More.

Visit Anhui


S handong Province is abbreviated as “Lu”, and its name refers to the province’s location to the east of the Taihang Mountains. The province is located on the eastern coastal areas of China and in the lower reaches of the Yellow River and borders the Yellow Sea to the east, and the Bohai Sea to the north. Read More.

Visit Shandong


H enan Province, “Yu” for short, is located in the central part of China. It was called Central Plains in ancient times. It is located in central and eastern part of China, and in the middle and lower reaches of Yellow River with Zhengzhou as its provincial capital. Read More.

Visit Henan


H ubei, “E” for short, is also named “the Province of Thousands of Lakes”. Hubei is located in the middle part of China, middle reaches of Changjiang River, and north of Dongting Lake, so it gets its name. Hubei is adjacent to Henan in the north, connected with Anhui in the east, near Jiangxi…Read More.

Visit Hubei


H unan Province is located in the regions south of the Yangtze River, and also the middle reaches of the Yangtze River, facing Jiangxi on the east, connecting Chongqing and Guizhou on the west, adjoining Guangdong and Guangxi on the south and adjoining Hubei on the north. Read More.

Visit Hunan


G uangdong is also called “Yue” for short. As a coastal province located at the southern end of mainland China, Guangdong lies to the south of the Nan Mountains, borders on the South China Sea to the south, shares borders with Hong Kong, Macao, Guangxi, Hunan, Jiangxi, and Fujian, and faces Hainan across the sea. Read More.

Visit Guangdong


L ocated in the southernmost of China, Hainan Province is China’s second largest island, only secondary to Taiwan, facing Guangdong Province across the Qiongzhou Strait in the north, the Socialist Republic of Vietnam across Beibu Gulf in the west, Taiwan Province across the South China Sea in the east, and the Philippines…Read More.

Visit Hainan


S ichuan, known as Bashu in ancient times, is a land of abundance and full of nature bestows, thus gaining the reputation as “the Essence of the Landscape in the world.” Sichuan has a profound history and magnificent culture. Read More.

Visit Sichuan


G uizhou Province, also called “Qian” or “Gui” for short, is located in the southeast part of Southwest China, bordering Hunan Province to the east, Guangxi Province to the south and Yunnan Province to the west and Sichuan Province and Chongqing City to the north. Read More.

Visit Guizhou


L ocated in the southwestern part of China and with Kunming as its capital, Yunnan Province, also called “Dian” or “Yun” for short, is one of the important birthplaces of mankind. Yunnan Yuanmou Man dating back to 1.7 million years ago has been identified to be the earliest human being in China and Asia. Read More.

Visit Yunnan


I n inland Chinese province located in the middle reaches of the Yellow River, Shaanxi, or Shan or Qin for short, is the province sharing borders with the largest number of provinces or prefecture-level cities in China. It stretches about 870 km from north to south while its width varies between 200 km and 500 km in the west-east direction. Read More.

Visit Shaanxi


G ansu Province is the provincial-level administrative region in People’s Republic of China. Located in the upstream of the Yellow River, Gansu Province borders Shaanxi to the east, Sichuan and Qinghai to the south, Xinjiang to the west and Inner Mongolia and Ningxia Hui Autonomous Region to the north. Read More.

Visit Gansu


Q inghai Province, also called Qing for short, is located in the northeastern part of Qinghai-Tibet Plateau and lying between the longitude of 89°35’E-003°04’E and latitude of 31°40’N -39°19’N, spanning 1,200 km from east to west, and 800 km from north to south with an area of 72.12 km2. Read More.

Visit Qinghai